• Today is: : November 15, 2018
  • Contact: (718) 426-3454, info@sbny.org
What is Zabiha Halal?

عن أبي هريرة قال قال رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم

« إن الله تعالى طيب لا يقبل إلا طيا » 

Hazrat Abu Hurayrah (may Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him and give him peace) said: “Allah, the Almighty, is tayyib (pure) and accepts only that which is tayyib.”

وإن الله أمر المؤمنين بما أمر به المرسلين فقال تعالى:  يَا أَيُّهَا الرُّسُلُ كُلُوا مِنَ الطَّيِّبَاتِ وَاعْمَلُوا صَالِحًا إِنِّي بِمَا تَعْمَلُونَ عَلِيمٌ . وقال تعالى:  يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آَمَنُوا كُلُوا مِنْ طَيِّبَاتِ مَا رَزَقْنَاكُمْ  

(رواه مسلم)

Allah has commanded the faithful to do that which he commanded the Messengers, and the Almighty has said:

“O messengers, eat from the good things, and act righteously.” (al-Mu’minoon:51)

“O you who believe, eat of the good things (tayyib)We have provided to you and be grateful to Allah” (al-Baqarah:172)

                                                                                     (Sahih Muslim)

In the life of a human being, food and all edible items are immensely important as they play a vital role in the development of human instincts and good manners. It is for this reason, Islam has adopted a very lofty and pious standard of processing food especially meat.  Islam has considered it appropriate that the food intake of the human being should be Islamically acceptable (zaki), clean, and Islamically pure (tayyib). 

Islam has prescribed special instructions in respect to the meat consumed by a Muslim.  This is to ensure that the growth resulting from the consumption of meat is guaranteed for the health of the body, safety of the nature of human beings, and protection of the soul and good manners.

What is Halal to eat?

What is Zabiha?

Some Basic Principles of Eating Halal

The Conditions of Zabiha

  1. At least THREE out of the FOUR main veins of the throat MUST be cut.
  2. Mentioning the Name of Allah at the time of each slaughter
    1. “Eat not (of meats) on which Allah's name has not been pronounced, and surely it is a sin...” (al-An’aam : 121)
    2. Any animal upon which Bismillah is not mentioned intentionally at the time of slaughter, is considered maitah (carrion, or dead meat).  Maitah is just as haram as pork.
  3. The butcher must be a Muslim or Believing Ahlul Kitab
    1. If one does not know who slaughtered the animal, further researched MUST be done before eating

Note: If any one of the above conditions is not fulfilled, the meat will be HARAM for consumption.

Some Benefits of Eating Halal and Harms of Consuming Haram